Dialogue with Daila

Why Do We Blog?

Posted in Uncategorized by Daila Holder on August 26, 2008

This topic was suggested byCeNedra Rivera  who has a blog that I very much enjoy. 

I am a new blogger, so I realize that my motivations for blogging may be quite different than someone who has blogged for quite a while.  I will attempt to cover a wide variety of reasons for blogging and perhaps give you a few points to ponder. 

Pondering reasons I blog.

 

I think most bloggers will fall into one of the following categories:

1.  They treat their blog as a way to document their life, virtual or otherwise. – The Journal Blogger

2.  They blog about a specific topic to spread their knowledge and/or opinion. – The Listen to Me  Blogger

3.  They blog to work out their own issues.  – The Are You There Blog, It’s Me Margaret Blogger

4.  They blog because they like to write.  – The I can’t get published, so I Blog Blogger.

5.  They blog to establish a social connection.  – The No One Else Understands Me Blogger.

And some people fall into the category listed below, but you will find that their blog rarely stays updated, and they usually lose interest in blogging over time.

6.  They blog because their friends blog.  – I Want One Too Blogger

I think a lot of people, especially Second Life Bloggers fall into the first category, the Journal Bloggers.  They want to document their virtual existence and share cool stuff they may have found on SL. 

Fashion bloggers would fall into the Listen to Me Blogger.  They have an opinion and want to share it with everyone.

Reading a blog written by an Are You There Blog, It’s Me Margaret Blogger is sometimes heart wrenching.  Many bloggers are trying to wade through their thoughts and make difficult decisions by writing on their blog.   

The I Can’t Get Published, So I Blog Blogger treats their blog as a creative endeavor, and it is most often an enjoyable read.  Just because someone can’t get published does not mean that they aren’t talented.  Most blogs of this type will have short stories and a large following. 

The No One Else Understands Me Blogger is seeking acceptance plain and simple.  They want to know that someone else out there feels and does the same things they do.  A lot of younger or socially isolated people with blogs fall into this category.  They enjoy reading and responding to comments on their blog.  It’s always nice to know you aren’t alone. 

And last but not least the I Want One Too Blogger will do a half hearted job at blogging by mostly posting funny links or jokes.  The blog usually lacks substance or any personal touch.  It may be amusing, but it will fail to catch any long term readers other than friends or family. 

And of course there are all of the above bloggers.  Why do I blog?  I blog to document my second life in a way that will allow me to express my opinions, establish a social connection and perhaps help me work through some of my many issues.   Oh and I also can’t get published, because I’m too busy reading all my friends’ blogs instead of writing my Great American Novel. 

Why do you blog?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bone said, on August 27, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    /me points to this post.

  2. Bon said, on August 27, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Very good post. I think I am a combination of a few of those reasons.

  3. Night Morrisey said, on August 28, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Daila, I found your blog through CeN, and I love it. Its great to find another relatively new blogger like me who really seems to be committed to the experience, has something to say, and is clearly having fun.

    I’m a combination Are You There Its Me Margaret blogger and I Can’t Get Published, So I Blog blogger. I’ll be adding you to the blogroll on my site – stop by and see it! I’ll also be looking you up on plurk :)

    -Night

  4. CeNedra said, on August 29, 2008 at 6:04 am

    Daila thank you so much for taking a random topic suggestion and turning it into a thought provoking post. I believe I fit into every category depending on the day and the post. I hope you don’t mind but I’ve written a detailed explanation on my site. Thanks for this, I really enjoyed it.

  5. Arabesque Baroque said, on September 9, 2008 at 12:12 am

    mmm – I have a fashion blog and I need to check it over cos I’m hoping that it’s not too “listen to me”. Humans enjoy creating and looking at/sharing well-created things, so to me it’s primarily a creative outlet. I don’t have the cash or time in RL to create with fashion and actually am not a fan of the culture around fashion in RL. But in SL it is one of the more dynamic areas of creativity and very accessible so it’s become quite a passion for me and I generally aim to put together themed looks or outfits by gathering eclectic pieces from differnt sources, so it’s also a bit of a challenge and an excuse to go exploring inworld. So what I’m saying is perhaps you missed the category of the “Wanna see this thing I made, I think you’ll like it?” Blogger. This is not meant to be an Aren’t I clever! show and tell, but hopefully a bit of a source of inspiration for others interested in the same kinda stuff.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

