Dialogue with Daila

Ten Day Challenge: Day Six

Posted in Uncategorized by Daila Holder on August 17, 2012

Five People Who Mean a Lot

I took a long break between day five and day six, a very long break.  One reason for that break is my attention span when it comes to online things such as blogging, plurking, etc. is fleeting.  The internet is my vast playground, and I flit around from topic to topic at whim.  Another reason is that I find this topic very boring.  I think the people who mean a lot to me are pretty damn obvious.  They are in no particular order:

My husband

My father

My mother

My brother

My sister

I mean it’s my real life family, and I think anyone that knows me in both lives can see that.  I could go into huge detail about each one, but to the people that read this blog, I mean skim this blog and look at the pictures, none of those details will matter.

So instead I present to you five people that I googled over the last few weeks instead of writing this blog post:

 

1.  Alex Clare

Okay, yes I admit I didn’t really know who Alex Clare was until that IE9 commercial, but damn that boy can sing.  He just seduces me with his voice and his lyrics.  I have a huge crush on him now.

I found his acoustic version of Hummingbird and listened to it about 20 times back to back.  (Yes, Joel yelled at me.)

Listen to this and tell me you don’t love him.  http://video.uk.msn.com/watch/video/alex-clare-hummingbird-live/2tvnwlxg

Oh btw, I’m claiming him for now until my attention gets caught by someone else.

 

2.  Alfred Hitchcock

When I found out Joel hadn’t watched any Hitchcock except Psycho, we remedied that quickly with a Hitchcock night.  In fact, I think I wrote my last post the day we were going to do our marathon.   I was prompted to want to rewatch a few of his movies after reading an article with Tippi Hedren in which she discusses Hitchcock’s obsession with his blondes, her and Kim Novak.  There’s actually an HBO movie coming up about it, I think.  In the article, Hedren refers to Hitchcock as “a genius, evil and a deviant”.  He would be on my dinner party list for sure.

 

3.  Lolo Jones

Is she really a virgin?  Seriously?  Does the fact that she mentioned she was a virgin overshadow her accomplishments.  I’m not really sure, but I know that’s what I focused on when I read up on her.

 

4.  Amy Sohn

I’ve read Amy’s articles before in Salon, but I stumbled on this excerpt from her recent book Motherland after reading an article wondering if some of it could be fiction.  The book deals with the regression of 40 year old women, mothers and wives, who return to staying out late, drinking too much, doing drugs, sleeping around while their husbands stay home, take care of the kids and play video games.

I’d say that’s probably pretty much true.  Sure, she may have sensationalized it a little bit, but overall, I’d say I see the same trends where I live and honestly to some extent in SL.

Read the article.  http://www.theawl.com/2012/07/the-40-year-old-reversion  What do you think?  Truth or Fiction or a combination of the two?

 

5.  Alexa Vega

When did the Spy Kids girl get so damn hot?  I’d do her.

 

As you can tell, I spend a lot of time just reading random articles about people who really don’t matter, but it’s a life, and I call it mine.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I.M. Pangs said, on August 17, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    In order for there to be a 40-year-old-reversion, my lady pals would need to have stopped staying out late and doing all that other shit.

  2. Daila Holder said, on August 17, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Does it bother you, or are you cool with it?

  3. I.M. Pangs said, on August 17, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    I’m not bothered as long as folks take care of their business and deal with me honestly.

  4. Daila Holder said, on August 17, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    I think that comment would describe my entire life philosophy. Take care of your business and be honest with me, and I won’t have any problems with anything you do.

  5. Anonymous said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    About fucking time.
    PJE


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

